Monday, February 11, 2013

Colorado Magazine Ban to be Heard in Committee Tuesday



Colorado Magazine Ban to be Heard in Committee Tuesday

Let Your Voice Be Heard and Oppose HB13-1224

HB13-1224 is proposed legislation that prohibits the sale, transfer, or possession of an ammunition feeding device capable of accepting, or that can be converted to accept, more than 10 rounds of ammunition or more than 5 shotgun shells. A hearing on this bill will be held before the House Judiciary Committee this Tuesday, Feb. 12.

The National Shooting Sports Foundation is urging all sportsmen, hunters and gun owners to attend Tuesday's public hearing to be held at the State Capitol building in the Old Supreme Court Chambers which could be adjourned as early as 9 am. NSSF urges Colorado citizens to contact their state representative, senator and all members of the House Judiciary Committee immediately, urging them to oppose this magazine ban.

This Tuesday might be the only chance for your voice to be heard before legislators push through legislation that will seriously affect not only your Second Amendment rights, but also the magazines you use in your rifles and handguns. Colorado manufacturers will be directly affected (i.e: Magpul), as well, resulting in the loss of good paying jobs and badly needed tax revenue to the state.

If this bill passes, law-abiding gun owners, retailers and manufacturers will be the only ones to comply since criminals won't abide by a magazine restriction. Arbitrarily limiting magazine capacity and threatening law-abiding gun owners with possible confiscation and felony charges represents serious legislative overreach. As part of the 1994 "Assault Weapons" ban, the production of higher capacity magazines was halted. A comprehensive study by the Centers for Disease Control looked at the full panoply of gun-control measures, including this ban, and concluded that none could be proven to reduce crime. Another study, commissioned by Congress, found that bans were not effective since "the banned weapons and magazines were never used in more than a modest fraction of all gun murders."

Please Immediately contact members of the Judiciary Committee:

Chair Daniel Kagan
303-866-2921, repkagan@gmail.com

Vice Chair Pete Lee
303-866-2932, pete.lee.house@state.co.us

Rep. John Buckner
303-866-2944, john.buckner.house@state.co.us

Rep. Lois Court
303-866-2967, lois.court.house@state.co.us

Rep. Bob Gardner
303-866-2191, bob.gardner.house@state.co.us

Rep. Polly Lawrence
303-866-2935, polly.lawrence.house@state.co.us


Rep. Mike McLachlan
303-866-2914, mike.mclachlan.house@state.co.us

Rep. Carole Murray
303-866-2948, murrayhouse45@gmail.com

Rep Brittany Pettersen
303-866-2939, brittany.pettersen.house@state.co.us

Rep Joseph Salazar
303-866-2918, joseph.salazar.house@state.co.us

Rep. Jared Wright
303-866-2583, jared.wright.house@state.co.us



2 comments:

  1. what ever leader wrote the bill and submitted it should bee tried as a traitor, and should be removed , for hanging according to the constitution, you people need to look into where this evil,leader really works for.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Let Your Voice Be Heard - and if they refuse to hear our voices, let them hear our arms.

    ReplyDelete