Tuesday, February 19, 2013

Message From Magpul - The Colorado Fight Is Not Over Yet


Yesterday the Colorado House passed HB 13-1224 and a number of other gun-control bills, but the fight is far from over. These bills still need to pass through Senate Committee and be passed by the Senate itself before it moves to the Governor's office. Contact your Senator and politely explain why HB 13-1224 is bad policy, will harm the rights of law abiding citizens, and drive jobs out of the state while doing nothing to improve public safety.

Irene Aguilar
303-866-4852
irene.aguilar.senate@state.co.us

David Balmer
303-866-4883
david.balmer.senate@state.co.us

Randy Baumgardner
303-866-5292
randy.baumgardner.senate@state.co.us

Greg Brophy
303-866-6360
greg@gregbrophy.net

Bill Cadman
303-866-4880
bill.cadman.senate@state.co.us

Morgan Carroll
303-866-4879
morgan.carroll.senate@state.co.us

Larry Crowder
303-866-4875
larry.crowder.senate@state.co.us

Angela Giron
303-866-4878
angela.giron.senate@state.co.us

Kevin Grantham
303-866-4877
kevin.grantham.senate@state.co.us

Lucia Guzman
303-866-4862
lucia.guzman.senate@state.co.us

Ted Harvey
303-866-4881
ted.harvey.senate@state.co.us

Rollie Heath
303-866-4872
rollie.heath.senate@state.co.us

Owen Hill
303-866-2737
owen.hill.senate@state.co.us

Mary Hodge
303-866-4855
mary.hodge.senate@state.co.us

Evie Hudak
303-866-4840
senatorhudak@gmail.com

Cheri Jahn
303-866-4856
cheri.jahn.senate@state.co.us

Michael Johnston
303-866-4864
mike.johnston.senate@state.co.us

Matt Jones
303-866-5291
senatormattjones@gmail.com

John Kefalas
303-866-4841
john.kefalas.senate@state.co.us

Andy Kerr
303-866-4859
andy.kerr.senate@state.co.us

Steve King
303-866-3077
steve.king.senate@state.co.us

Kent Lambert
303-866-4835
senatorlambert@comcast.net

Kevin Lundberg
303-866-4835
kevin@kevinlundberg.com

Vicki Marble
303-866-4876
vicki.marble.senate@state.co.us

John Morse
303-866-6364
john.morse.senate@state.co.us

Linda Newell
303-866-4846
linda.newell.senate@gmail.com

Jeanne Nicholson
303-866-4873
jeanne.nicholson.senate@state.co.us

Scott Renfroe
303-866-4451
senatorrenfroe@gmail.com

Ellen Roberts
303-866-4884
ellen.roberts.senate@state.co.us

Mark Scheffel
303-866-4869
mark.scheffel.senate@state.co.us

Gail Schwartz
303-866-4871
gail.schwartz.senate@gmail.com

Pat Steadman
303-866-4861
pat.steadman.senate@state.co.us

Lois Tochtrop
303-866-4863
lotochtrop@aol.com

Nancy Todd
303-866-3432
nancy.todd.senate@state.co.us

Jessie Ullibarri
303-866-4857
jessie.ulibarri.senate@state.co.us

5 comments:

  1. What good does it do to keep calling and calling the same tyrants who could give a flying shit what you think or want????????????????????????????

    The time for playing nice is over.

    Doug

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It probably does no good, but when they find themselves on the wrong side of the battle zone, they'll remember why.

      I wouldn't say it's time to start shooting, but make sure you're zeroed in.

      Delete
  2. Copy of letter sent to my CO State Senator (Part 1 -- due length)

    NOTE: Please keep in mind while reading the following letter that Senator Carroll is one of the most flaming progressives in the Colorado Senate. So basically, writing to her in an appeal to reject the current assault on the 2A in Colorado is akin to hunting rogue elephants with a BB gun...but I had to try.

    (Subject: Regarding the "gun control" measures coming to the Senate)

    The Honorable Morgan Carroll
    Colorado State Senator

    To begin with, the term "gun control" is a total misnomer. The goal behind such legislation is people control, more efforts at engineering society which are almost at conception destined to fail. The existing black market supplying guns and drugs to criminals will simply become exponentially larger and more violent, violence that innocent citizens will be caught in regardless of their personal feelings about guns or drugs.

    All that will be accomplished by allowing flawed, feel good, do nothing bills to become law in this state -- such as a magazine capacity limits and "universal" background checks -- will be making criminals out of already law abiding citizens and the callous elimination of hundreds of jobs and state revenue to appease a political base. Absolutely no other benefits will be derived from implementing such flawed laws in our state. While it's pretty much the modern norm for all actions by politicians to be based on appeasing or attracting a political base regardless of the societal expense incurred, here is an opportunity for honest lawmakers to put their foot down against this travesty of modern lawmaking.

    At Columbine, shooter Eric Harris, who was too young to purchase guns, used friends as straw buyers to get his guns (already against the law), and avoided the-then restricted magazine capacity of 10 rounds by simply buying 13 magazines -- he fired a total 96 rounds before killing himself. So it was obvious that background checks and magazine restrictions didn't slow or deter his evil acts one iota -- yet you want us to believe that tighter background checks (that criminals already circumvent) and restricted magazine capacities (which are easily overcome by multiple magazines) are going to be effective?

    James Alan Fox, America's leading scholar on mass killings, says the average number of such killings has not changed as long as statistics have been kept; 35 years.

    There is no crisis to react to. There is literally nothing new to see here.

    Yes, Sandy Hook and the Aurora Theater shooting were terrible tragedies, but more people die every month in Chicago than were killed at Sandy Hook, and Chicago has the strictest gun control in the nation. Even at Sandy Hook, in Connecticut, an “Assault Weapons Ban” was already in place. The Aurora theater shooting was conveniently glossed over by politicians at all levels as it would have brought up possible speed bumps to the upcoming election.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Copy of letter sent to my CO State Senator (Part 2)

    Criminals get their guns from other criminals. The guns are stolen or purchased through straw buyers, not sold at a gun show or from an honest citizen in private transactions, according to the FBI. Universal background checks will have no effect on this.

    More gun control laws will do nothing to stop mass killers. The Sandy Hook killer committed over 20 felonies. Another law would prevent this from happening? Seriously?

    Sometimes the smartest thing to do, and the most courageous thing to do, is nothing.

    One thing is sure to happen if these worthless laws are passed into being. The absolute and universal Law of Unintended Consequences will be initiated. Among other things (such as driving viable businesses out of the state, making law abiding citizens instant criminals and expanding a violent black market), while trying to "just do something" to appease the progressive base you will be awakening a large segment of the population that has dropped out of voting and participating in politics -- you'll give them reason to come back in force to elect sane government officials who will overturn emotionally inspired, but totally worthless laws.

    There is not one item in the recent flurry of feel good, do something, accomplish nothing positive, legislation passed through the House that will do even one small thing to eliminate mass killings or criminal/mental illness generated crime. I urge you to be the adult in the Senate and stop these worthless legislative items from causing unnecessary problems in our state.

    Respectfully yours,
    David R. Forward
    Aurora, CO 80017

    ReplyDelete
  4. Anyone know where you can get all the emails of the CO reps and senators in a continuous list that can be copied and pasted into the To line? The potheads lobbying for legalization had one on a website but it is out of date. If anyone knows of where an updated list is (or want to create one) to save me some time that would great. These emails should be sent all lawmakers to let them know you and you opinion exist. The reps for boulder probably think everyone in the world is for these laws.

    ReplyDelete